Latest post Thu, Dec 1 2011 8:17 AM by Pat Horridge. 2 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Thu, Dec 1 2011 3:14 AM

• mozerski
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Thu, Nov 17 2011
    • Posts 3
    • Points 50

Master clip colours set in an external project are 'restored' to default colour in current working project.

Hello Avid Community,

I'm an assistant editor / vfx editor in feature films and my team and I have come across a clip colouring issue which we've noted has been around for a while. We're just trying to determine if it is a bug, if there is a simple work-around or maybe pending a fix one day..

Thanks in advance to anyone who has the time to consider the issue,

Issue: Avid 5.5.3 & 6.0.0 (and older versions)

Master clip colours set in an external project are 'restored' to default colour in current working project.

Behaviour:

The current bin containing either a master clip, or sequence clip (timeline) over-writes or defines the clip colour of the next bin opened with the same clip, even if the 'new' clip and colour have been set later.

Explained

(Project workflow is currently on local storage and media is managed manually, we are expecting to move onto an avid unity, however I have also seen this behaviour on the unity in the past).

I set a clip colour to blue in my assistant editor project, copy the bin to the editor's master project.

If the Editor's edit (timeline) is open, and contains that clip in the edit (as default colour).

Then I open my new bin with the clip coloured blue.

The result is that the master clip colour is changed from blue to default to match the edit timeline colour.

Observations:

It appears that the first bin opened will dictate the colour of other clip colours in bins opened afterwards.

So if I opened a bin with new clip colours first… then opened the avid timeline, the clips would ripple update the edit timeline.