Latest post Tue, May 15 2012 8:54 PM by Kevin Klimek. 12 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (13 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, May 15 2012 5:24 AM

MC6 beach balling - real bummer

well I'm an AVID newbie, making the transition from FCP...after all of the transcoding and importing to AVIDs native codecs and the rest of the hoopla about this rock solid editing environment I'm plagued with beach balls while performing normal editing tasks like overwrites and trims.  It's been a frustrating task just to get up and running within the application but nevertheless I'm still optimistic.  

Is anyone else experiencing frequent crashes or endless beach balls?  Is it my graphics card?  I have 11GB of ram and nothing else is running on the machine outside of AVID. 

frustrated :(

Avid MC 7.0.3 | Mac Pro 3.06 GHz 12-Core | 64 GB RAM | ATI Radeon HD 5770, 1024 MB | OS 10.9.1 [view my complete system specs]

Charles Little II
    Director/Editor
    http://charleslittle2.com
    #charleslittle2

Filed under: , , ,
  • Tue, May 15 2012 2:34 PM In reply to

Re: MC6 beach balling - real bummer

In the Qualified Systems for MC Guide, that model is supported, but you are supposed to have your memory installed in triplets, so either 6GB (3 x 2GB) or 12GB (3x 4GB) of RAM is qualified.

Your 11GB might be throwing something off.

Symphony v8.8 | OS 10.11.6 • Nitris DX • 12-core MacPro (Mid 2012) • 36 GB RAM • Facilis Terrablock 24EX [view my complete system specs]

-- Kevin

• Tue, May 15 2012 3:12 PM In reply to

thanks for that tip Kevin.  I wonder if there's a test or some sort of diagnostic that can be run to determine if that IS why my system is beachballing?  Looks like I need an AVID AE in my world.

Avid MC 7.0.3 | Mac Pro 3.06 GHz 12-Core | 64 GB RAM | ATI Radeon HD 5770, 1024 MB | OS 10.9.1 [view my complete system specs]

Charles Little II
    Director/Editor
    #charleslittle2

• Tue, May 15 2012 3:19 PM In reply to