Latest post Thu, May 24 2012 9:43 PM by John Moore. 9 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (10 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, May 23 2012 9:16 AM

Do you get USB dongle with FCP Crossgrade

Hi guys,

I am new to everything Avid, mostly used Adobe and FCP. 

Recently did a FCP cross grade and only received electronic activation codes. I asked the dealer if USB dongle license is possible? He reverted back with USB dongle is with USD6000 purchase of Symphony. Now is this true guys. Them I must say that it's kind of disappointing the way AVID is making us users buy Thier products with a catch. 

I edit on my Mac Pro and and MacBook pro (when I travel) and am the only user.  

Filed under: , ,
  • Wed, May 23 2012 10:11 AM In reply to

Re: Do you get USB dongle with FCP Crossgrade

New systems are Software Activation only.  You may be able to purchase a dongle for $295.  Contact Avid Inside Sales.

"Call 800 949 2843 and select option 1 to speak with an Avid sales representative."

Symphony 8.8.x w/Avid Nitris DX, HP z420, Windows 10, QT v7.7.x, Hexa Core 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM, nVidia Quadro Series 2000 w/353.82. 2TB Boot, 2 x 3TB internal... [view my complete system specs]

"There are few technological barriers.  You can fix almost anything if you throw enough money at it."
    Randall L. Rike, ACI, ACSR Mac*Win*Unity*ISIS*DS
    Systems Engineer @ BET Networks [a Viacom company]
    (wwld)

• Wed, May 23 2012 2:00 PM In reply to

On top of that, your dealer doesn't seem to be aware of the US$995 FCP-to-Symphony crossgrade offer that's ongoing.

(SYSTEM 1) iMac Late 2012 27" (13,2), Mac OS X 10.12.6, Avid Media Composer 2018.10 w/Symphony, Intel Core i7 3.4 GHz, 32 GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX... [view my complete system specs]
  • Wed, May 23 2012 2:11 PM In reply to

"... On top of that, your dealer doesn't seem to be aware of the US$995 FCP-to-Symphony crossgrade offer that's ongoing ..."

Just a guess ... perhaps the $6,000 version includes the Nitris DX?