Latest post Tue, Jun 26 2012 1:03 PM by KristianB. 2 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Jun 26 2012 11:19 AM

• KristianB
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sun, Jun 27 2010
    • Posts 6
    • Points 80

Need help with activation / support

I'm at a loss here. Recently my system was compromised by a virus attack and I was forced to backup and format my entire harddrive. Since I had to plug out my LAN cable, out of fear that some malicious hacker could log all my passwords and logins, I was not able to deactivate AVID over the internet. My problem is really quite simple. I would like to activate my AVID Media Composer. I currently have version 5.0, but have had enourmous troubles contacting customer support for various reasons. Now before I talk about my problems with costumer support, I would like to get a few things straight.

First off: I am currently a student at the university of Aarhus and purchased my Academic version of AVID Media Composer 4 in 2010, when I was still attending the European Film College. Later the same year I acquired Media Composer 5 as a free upgrade. I was provided with a different cd-key for this version. I see now that it says on my box for AVID Media Composer 4, that I'm entitled to as many as 4 years of upgrades after my original purchase.

My first question would then be: Am I in fact entitled to a free Media Composer 6 upgrade?

In light of the virus attack that I mentioned earlier, I'm afraid that someone may have my AVID Media Composer 5 cd-key and system ID.

My second question is: If I were to upgrade to Media Composer 6, would the new cd-key circumvent such an individual or individuals from using my AVID?