Latest post Tue, Oct 2 2012 1:12 PM by Moses.M. 7 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (8 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Mon, Oct 1 2012 10:35 PM

New to Avid Media Composer and MXF files

Hi I am new to Avid and have problems with my MXF files. 

My material was filmed on RED EPIC and then transferd to MXF files. I work on an an iMAC with OSX ver 10.8.2, 3.1 GHz INtel Core i5

My MXF files are on an WD harddrive. On that drive it is 3 files. First a folder named: Avid MediaFiles and if I open it has 2 folders one named 1 and the other 2. Folder 1 contains all the audio and folder 2 all the video.

I click on TOOLS then Media tool, select the hard drive and then click on all projects and ok. 

This leared was the right way. I also have tried to get files from link to AMA files and link to AMA voloume but nothing happens. 

What am I doin wrong? Why can avid not locate the files?

PLEASE HELP!!!

Filed under: , , , ,
  • Tue, Oct 2 2012 1:38 AM In reply to

Re: New to Avid Media Composer and MXF files

mercuriosity:
    My MXF files are on an WD harddrive. On that drive it is 3 files. First a folder named: Avid MediaFiles and if I open it has 2 folders one named 1 and the other 2.

You seem to be missing the "MXF" folder.

The path for Avid media files should be Avid MediaFiles>MXF>1

MacPro dual 2.66GHz 6GB RAM nVIDIA GeForce 7300 GT Storage: 2TB G-Speed eS with controller card 3x1TB Hitachi SATA-II internals, various external FW/USB... [view my complete system specs]

Kenton VanNatten | Avid Editor (for hire)

"I am not obsessed... I'm detail-oriented"

• Tue, Oct 2 2012 6:29 AM In reply to

Thank you! I will try it. Should both the sound and the video be in the MXF folder?

• Tue, Oct 2 2012 6:42 AM In reply to

• Moses.M
    • Top 150 Contributor
    • Joined on Mon, Jun 9 2008
    • Austria
    • Posts 651
    • Points 8,100

both should be in the "1" folder...