Latest post Wed, Oct 31 2012 6:49 PM by Pat Horridge. 1 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (2 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Oct 31 2012 6:42 PM

    • BARR
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, Sep 14 2012
    • Posts 2
    • Points 20

    How do I delete a User Profile?

    I had a corrupt System User on my Mac and IT told me to create a new user to solve the problem.  I exported my user profile settings out of my Media Composer 6.0.1.1 and tried copying the settings folder from my old Mac System User to my new System User. After that, the name of my Avid profile settings shows up in the "Select Project" dialogue box, in the "User Profile"dropdown menu, BUT, the settings aren't the same they are the defult user settings and I don't have any of my export settings that I've created for all my clients.

    So I tried to deleting the User Profile under

    Macintosh HD/Applications/Avid Media Composer/Settings/(my username)

    in an effort to try importing the Avid User Profile again (thinking maybe I'd overlooked something), but my Avid User Profile stills shows up in Avid.

    A twist to my problem is, at my facility we have several edit bays and several users.  So simple creating a user profile for each with a different name for each person with a profile isn't an option for me, because I don't want a ton of dead users on the computer clogging things up.  I also don't have the luxury of time to re-program all the export setting I've created for all my clients.  The appearance settings and keyboard shortcuts aren't as big of a deal, I can reprogram those.

    So how do I officially delete my User Profile?

    Then, how do I transfer my User Profile from one Mac System User to another System User on the same box?

  • Wed, Oct 31 2012 6:49 PM In reply to

    Re: How do I delete a User Profile?

    Well user setting can be exported and imported from the drop down in the setting tab.

    This is the cleanest way to get them from one system to another.

    Also you can drag any settings into the site settings as a simple way to move them to a new user on the same system.

    With user 1 selected and settings open choose the special menu and site settings and a new window opens drag all the settings you need from your settinsg windo to the site settings window

    Then select user 2 and copy back from the site settings to the users 2 settings. Then either delete from the site settings or leave (and all new users will inherit those user settings.

    If it's logged on user profiles that are the issue then it's more complex (and we don't allow that at my post house)

     

    ACI Moderator. I'm not employed by Avid or work for them. I just do this in my spare time. Normally using the current Media Composer version on My... [view my complete system specs]

     

    Broadcast & Post Production Consultant / Trainer  VET

     

    T 07581 201248 | E pat@vet.co.uk | W www.vet.co.uk |


    Media Composer V8.2 Review Background Render

    -

    Follow me on Twitter Pat_H_VET

    Filed under:
Page 1 of 1 (2 items)

© Copyright 2011 Avid Technology, Inc.  Terms of Use |  Privacy Policy |  Site Map |  Find a Reseller