Latest post Fri, Sep 27 2013 9:07 PM by Randall L. Rike. 2 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Fri, Sep 27 2013 8:52 PM

• CyberWrek
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, Sep 27 2013
    • Posts 0
    • Points 0

Pro Tools 8 LE low levels

Hi everyone,

This is my first time posting, so I apologize if my question is placed in the wrong area. I recently installed Pro Tools 10 on my Mac and have been using it every day without issue for the past two months. A friend of mine recently bought Pro Tools 8 LE for her PC and asked me to install it. Being the cocky guy I am, I said, "Sure! Piece of cake!"

Well, it's been anything but a piece of cake.

The installation went fine. I initially thought she'd have issues trying to install an older Pro Tools onto her Windows 8 system, but it installed fine and loads fine. No crashes or anything.

The MBox mini she bought shows proper levels in channel 1 and channel 2 separately. I've adjusted the gain to make sure neither the mic in channel 1 nor the guitar in channel 2 is clipping. I can hear the instruments fine through headphones plugged into the MBox Mini. But, when I record-enable track 1 in Pro Tools with Analog Input 1, it shows no levels. When I change it to Analog Input 2, it shows a very low level (1/3 up the green meter).

The strange thing is that both the mic and the guitar are registering on the same track, despite the fact that I have Analog Input 2 selected.

If this helps, when I import audio into Pro Tools and play the tracks, the audio is completely distorted in the headphones plugged into the MBox. I feel so stupid not being able to help my friend out with this. Oh, and I thought maybe there was some issue with Windows 8, so I installed the same setup on her Windows Vista computer and it does the exact same thing. Also, I upgraded Pro Tools 8 to 8.0.5 and the Mbox driver is 1.1.7.

Ideas? Thanks.

• Fri, Sep 27 2013 8:59 PM In reply to

• Marianna
    • Top 25 Contributor