Latest post Thu, Jan 9 2014 4:08 PM by John Pale. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Jan 8 2014 6:40 PM

• sonnyfeld
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, Jan 8 2014
    • Posts 6
    • Points 80

Adding Audio Tracks to a Subclip

Hello, 

I'm an assistant editor who is on a reality project that is 3 months into dailies.  To meet the specs of our lead editor, our workflow has been to autosync video with the stereo mix of the external audio.  This way there isn't 5-9 tracks of audio on the timeline, the editor cuts with a stereo mix, and then match frames the audio if she needs isos.  This workflow was approved by the post producer on day one.

All of our dailies have been subclipped into V1 - A1 - A2 format, it's the first thing we do when we autosync.  Yesterday, our story producers requested that we include all audio tracks in the subclips, they don't like the hasstle of matching back through groups and subclips to reach the audio isos.  Now that the show has a larger staff, the old style has been outvoted, and they have asked us to redo the dailies with all available tracks.  This is an easy adjustment moving forward, but we're talking 3 months of dailies that will need to be resynced, regrouped, markers transferred, and relabeled.  All the information to do this is in the project, but the footage is not slated, the lockit boxes are often off between 1-3 frames, and the multicams rarely share common timecode.  Our job has been devoted to getting the workflow we agreed upon right.

Sorry for the rant.  Anyway - does anyone know a way to add audio tracks into the subclips and groups?  Is there modify command that will allow a subclip to "open up" from V1-A1-A2 and become V1-A1-A2-A3-A4-A5-A6-A7-ETC?  Then, is there a way to refresh the groups to reflect the new tracks in the subclips?  These tracks exist in the master clip, they were not included in the subclips to ease timeline clutter for the editors.