Latest post Mon, Apr 21 2014 6:48 PM by Andrew Rice. 10 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (11 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Fri, Apr 4 2014 7:08 PM

• Drew Layman
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 17 2013
    • Lousiville KY
    • Posts 9
    • Points 105

Media Composer to ProTools: Roundtripping

I was wondering if anyone could share with me how they round trip from MC to PT. 

I'm using MC7 and PT11. Any advice would be much appreciated. I'm very new to PT. Thank you!

Late 2013 Mac Pro Processor: 2.7 GHz 12-Core Intel Xeon E5 Memory: 32 GB 1867 MHz DDR3 ECC Graphics: AMD FirePro D500 3072 MB Software: OS X 10.9.2 Avid... [view my complete system specs]
  • Fri, Apr 4 2014 7:32 PM In reply to

Re: Media Composer to ProTools: Roundtripping

Are both programs on the same compoter?
    If not are they both on a network?

How would you move the media between them?

• Mon, Apr 7 2014 2:58 AM In reply to

• Andrew Rice
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Wed, Aug 24 2011
    • Maui, Hawaii
    • Posts 155
    • Points 2,010

I would love an answer to this too...in my case both programs are on the same computer.

Media Composer 8.4 • Mac Pro • 2.8GHz Quad-Core Intel Xeon • 16GB RAM • ATI Radeon HD 5770 • Nvidia Quadra 4000 • Blackmagic Decklink Studio • BMD Desktop... [view my complete system specs]

Glassy waves make me happy

• Mon, Apr 7 2014 3:20 AM In reply to

In which case you are probably in an ideal postion as long as you have recent versions of both MC and PT's.

Export an AAF with of your Audio only MC timeline with a link to media option checked.
    Do the same with a video only timeline

Open a Protools session (set Start TC to the same as your MC timelines start time) and import both of the AAF's

Your Avid video media can be setup to playback on one of the Protools CPU's monitors. Or out to a client monitor. dependant on your setup