Latest post Tue, Oct 6 2015 10:39 AM by TVJohn. 110 replies.
Page 1 of 8 (111 items) 1 2 3 4 5 Next > ... Last »
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Sep 15 2015 1:14 PM

• funaroma
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sat, Mar 23 2013
    • Posts 66
    • Points 790

MC Newbie Questions

While i have some decent prior experience with basic video editing, I was able to quickly learn enough about MC to actually receive a small but regular job offer.  But in the learning process, i made a pretty substantial mistake that nearly cost me the opportunity.

I was provided with an original MP4 that was to be edited.  Just a single file is all this project required.

I imported it into MC, made the edits and changes up to a certain point, then submitted what i had.

In the course of editing, I realized that the video as i was working on it in MC did not have the same high quality as the original source material.  Blurrier, and possibly even the wrong aspect ratio.

I obviously made a mistake during import, probably having set up the project wrong.

My two questions are:

1.  I definitely want to keep the edit work i have done so far, as the client wishes for me to continue.  However, I obviously have to fix the quality/ratio issue.  Is there a way for me to create a new project and properly import the media, then import my edits to date and have them still be correct in the new project?

2.  Before I even try to fix it, how can i get ALL the details I need about the source material, such that importing it into MC doesn't change it in any way?  How do the attributes I might see about the video (in whatever app/widget whatever you recommend) transate to project settings?

Thanks for any help you can offer!

• Tue, Sep 15 2015 2:59 PM In reply to

• RalphC
    • Top 50 Contributor
    • Joined on Wed, Sep 2 2015
    • Posts 1,840
    • Points 20,340
    • Avid Customer Advocate
      Avid Customer Service
      Avid Employee
      SystemAdministrator

Re: MC Newbie Questions