Latest post Sat, Mar 5 2016 1:12 AM by DStone. 16 replies.
Page 2 of 2 (17 items) < Previous 1 2
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Fri, Mar 4 2016 10:08 PM In reply to

• Pounder
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, Mar 4 2016
    • Posts 3
    • Points 45

Re: HDV to MC 8.5 on Mac Pro

Hi, I'm new to Avid Media Composer and currently trialing this product but have come across this issue of trying to capture HDV footage from either my Sony HDR-FX1E or my Sony HVR-M25P (both units are PAL versions). Like others, I get the video button greyed out and can't capture HDV however I can capture DV with down convert no problems and I can control both units (I can also capture analog via my Canopus ADVC110). I have the project setting on 1080i/50 with a raster of 1440x1080. All the settings that I can see are correct but HDV capture is not possible. The audio buttons are enabled (8 tracks) but if I click on any of them I get the 'no signal detected' error message, even though I can still control my units within the capture tool.

My background is semi pro video editing and production and used to use Ulead Media Studio Pro and Adobe Premiere with the former being my main editing tool. Unfortunately Media Pro was discontinued a few years ago and when I updated my system to Windows 7 Pro 64-bit and beyond (currently on Win10 64-bit), the product was incompatible. I really didn't want go through the process of learning a new program and also at the time with the demands of raising a young family, I took a back seat on video production and have just been doing conversions (film or analog tape to digital).