Latest post Wed, Jun 6 2018 7:09 PM by Thebigmuff. 2 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Jun 5 2018 6:07 PM

• Thebigmuff
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, Oct 7 2016
    • Posts 9
    • Points 85

4K RED files in HD Project

Hi all,

This is my first project editing RED footage in a HD 1920x1080 project.  I've already edited 3 scenes with the RED footage but before I go any further, and avoiding in catastrophe along the way, I would like to ask all the professionals here a few questions.  BTW, the first 3 scenes are fairly short so I just linked the RED files and start cutting from there (don't know if that's a smart move, but my workstation seems to be capale of handling it).  Running MC 2018.4

1)  Are there any specific settings I need to be on the lookout for? 

I checked my Source Setiing and feel like I should do something here, but I'm unsure.  The FrameFlex tab is what I'm most concerned about.  The footage when linked is filling the entire monitor, and seems kind of stretched.  There is 2 boxes I believe needs to be addressed and that's "SIZE MATCHES PROJECT RASTER" and "REFORMAT".  

2) is there a specific workflow in regards to my project moving forward? 

Since I linked all the RED files (conventional method would be to transcode first, but since this project is a freebie, I decided to experiment a little), should I just continue down this path?  Any possible issues that might rear it's ugly head?

Thanks for taking the time everyone.

• Wed, Jun 6 2018 9:21 AM In reply to

• nigelad
    • Top 500 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • London UK
    • Posts 492
    • Points 5,665
    • Avid Certified Instructors - Video
      Avid Certified User

Re: 4K RED files in HD Project

Hi

We tend to transcode to HD ProRes Proxy on Red projects, but if linking works for you it can be a good way to work.

There are 2 things you really need to know: