Latest post Tue, Oct 16 2018 5:29 AM by wkumingo. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Sun, Oct 14 2018 10:12 PM

• MaxXavier
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sun, Oct 14 2018
    • Posts 1
    • Points 25

Prepare footage for an editor. I'm lost.

Hello,

Please forgive my ignorance, I've very little knowledge on this subject. I have to deliver footage to an editor who will be working in AMC, and they've requested that the footage be transcoded and the audio synced.

I do not have AMC, nor have I ever used it. I have used FCP7/X for some small personal projects, but I am by no means an experienced editor. I've also never prepared and delivered footage to an editor before.

I have:
    - video clips in XF-AVC codec, 2k, 23.98, bt.709, 4:4:4 12 bit, Canon Log 2
    - audio files: 3 tracks per take (lav, lav, boom) as 3 separate wav files

The editor would like the footage transcoded to ProRes 422HQ with the audio synced. It is important that they are able to access each individual track of audio because we had some lav issues on some takes.

Honestly, I don't know where to begin. I know how to transcode in either FCPX or Compressor, and I know how to sync audio in FCPX or PluralEyes. What I don't know, however, is how to combine the two in a deliverable way that will work well for AMC.

My one thought, and advice I got on an FCPX forum, is to create a project for each clip in FCPX, sync the audio tracks there, and then export to ProRes 422HQ Multitrack files. But, I am not certain that those files will properly import into AMC with the multiple audio tracks, if that makes sense.