Latest post Sun, Feb 24 2019 6:00 PM by origin2. 2 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (3 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Feb 19 2019 11:33 PM

• origin2
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Sun, Jan 1 2012
    • Posts 4
    • Points 40

Weird behavior when adding video tracks V4 and up...

Hi everyone,

I'm new to MC.2018 so I'm not sure if this is a bug or some new function that I accidentally turned on, but when I am trying to add a new video track V4 (and above, i.e. V4 & V5 and so on) to a sequence, either by using CTRL-Y or right click in the timeline window, the new V4 shows up as "double tracks", that is, a pair of two V4s one ontop of another. And if I insert a new track between V1 and V2, the original V3 single track will get pushed to V4 and becoming a 2-track pair as well.

I can enable only one of the pair, but when I splice or overwrite a clip to this track, the disabled one gets enabled immediately and gets manipulated as one.

I can hide either one of them from the timeline hamburger menu, but this just seems so weird. Is this some function that I enabled without knowing somewhere? Because V1 through V3 behaves normally (the new track shows up as a single track), but above V4 everything gets duplicated as pair. I've tried 2 different projects and all behave this way.

I don't remember seeing this in my previous MC 8.3 or earlier versions. I thought CTRL-Y should always produces a single new video track?

My current project is set to be 1080p/29.97p with matchback to 35mm 4 perf turned on. The other one I tested is 2K(1998x1080)/24p. Is there any settings that I missed?

Thanks in advance.

-Albert

i7-4930k w/ 64GB ram. 4TBx4 & 2TBx4 RAID0 on HPT RR2740 storage. 10GbE intranet. Windows 7 SP1 x64. Media Composer 2018.12 [view my complete system specs]
  • Wed, Feb 20 2019 8:25 AM In reply to

Re: Weird behavior when adding video tracks V4 and up...

Sounds like a corruption in your user setting. Try a fresh new user, see if the problem goes away.