Latest post Fri, Feb 7 2020 4:47 AM by Alayne Holmes. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Thu, Feb 6 2020 6:28 PM

Re-Link Nightmare, so confused.

Hi,
    I've been using Avid for a couple of months now, so that's my skill level.

Here's what happened:
    1. Started a project and linked all my footage in.
    2. Transcoded those linked files and created the "new" files (DNxHD LB).
    3. Edited.
    4. Bought a new portable drive and moved all the original footage onto it.
    4.5. Continued editing with the transcoded footage.
    5. Selected all the original media and clicked 're-link' (as per instructions on forums for relinking footage after moving footage to a new drive.) I hoped this would relink the original footage from old drive to new so I could then relink the transcoded media back to the originals for export and color hand-off via aaf

6. I must have missed that the original media linked up to the Transcoded DNxHD LB proxies and now everything in the project is the proxies.
    7. So now Avid won't relink anything back to the original media because you can't manually point to a folder and I think there are some bugs because I then tried to link in the original media (bring it in to a bin) and for some reason it bought in the proxies!

8. Late last night I managed a workaround by deleting the 'Avid MediaFiles' bin, starting a new project, linking in all the original media, then bringing in the sequence from the old project. Right clicked on the sequence and re-linked all the offline footage and it somehow found the original media (bar a couple of AVCHD files). So now I can get the hell out of AVID with an aaf. Managed to salvage something.

It was hard to articulate exactly what happened so apologies, please ask questions. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Working with MXF files from Sony FS7

Project, footage, and Avid MediaFiles all on same drive

AVID 2019.11.0
    Macbook Pro Mojave 10.14.6