Latest post Tue, Jul 12 2011 1:49 PM by elbows. 3 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (4 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Mar 31 2009 9:42 PM

• Mike Browning
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Mar 31 2009
    • Golden Isles, GA
    • Posts 1
    • Points 15

Alesis io 14 causing problems...

Hi, thanks for reading... first time poster on these forums.

I have been using Media Composer for a few years now but just recently started using it (software only) on Mac OSX. I am running 2.8 on Tiger 10.4.11. I kept having problems with it crashing when I tried to exit. I would hit close and then it would give me an error message:

"Segmentation fault" in thread "MainThread", at address 0x0

I browsed the boards for answers on this, but couldn't find one that related to me. It had nothing to do with a particular project - just happens all across the board. So I started unplugging devices and trying MC again... finally I determined that my Alesis io14, which I use to record and monitor audio, seemed to cause the problem. This is a firewire device that hasn't caused me any issues before. I noticed other conflicts with the device and Avid as well: playback stuttering and then lock-ups whenever audio scrubbing was enabled. So I usually just unplugged it and used headphones directly from the computer.

My question, then, is whether others have run into a similar scenario and if there is a work around to getting to monitor audio again? I'm wondering whether it's the device itself or the fact it's on the firewire bus - if I got a different audio i/o device, do you think it would still present the same problems?

Thanks,

Mike Browning

System: Mac Pro Quad-Core Intel Xeon 2.66ghz Mac OSX 10.4.11 6 GB RAM Decklink HD Extreme 2 Sony HD video monitor Alesis io14 + Yorkville monitors Lacie... [view my complete system specs]
  • Mon, Jul 11 2011 2:30 PM In reply to

• elbows
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Jul 11 2011
    • London, United Kingdom
    • Posts 17
    • Points 185