Latest post Wed, Jan 16 2013 6:39 AM by Small Rebel Army. 11 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (12 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Mon, Aug 17 2009 5:43 PM

Displaying Audio Waveforms

I am new to AVID media composer and am trying to display audio waveforms. It is a wav file if that makes any difference. When I click the fast menu button, and audio date, there is NO OPTION for waveform plot. Instead my options are:

energy plot

sample plot

clip gain

auto gain

auto pan

none of which pull up the waveforms. Please help this beginner out!!!

• Mon, Aug 17 2009 5:53 PM In reply to

Re: Displaying Audio Waveforms

Energy plot and sample plot are BOTH waveform functions. Have you tried them?

Newscutter Nitris DX 9.5.3.5 * Media Composer 5.5.3.6 (At Home on PC running XP Pro) * Symphony 6.5.2.1 (At home on MacBook Pro3,1 running 10.7.2) * Interplay... [view my complete system specs]

Larry Rubin

Senior Editor

The Pentagon Channel

www.pentagonchannel.mil

• Mon, Aug 17 2009 5:58 PM In reply to

Yes I have and neither works. That's why I assumed it was something to do with my imported file.

• Mon, Aug 17 2009 6:04 PM In reply to

If you can play the clip in the timeline and hear audio, the waveform should be displayed with either of those two choices. If not, try rebuilding the site settings files, they may have become corrupted. To do this, quit the application, and from the settings folder, delete the following: MC State, Site_Settings, Site_Attributes. On re-launch, the system will detect the missing files and build new ones. If you had previously dragged any user settings into the site settings window, those will need to be restored after the rebuild.

Newscutter Nitris DX 9.5.3.5 * Media Composer 5.5.3.6 (At Home on PC running XP Pro) * Symphony 6.5.2.1 (At home on MacBook Pro3,1 running 10.7.2) * Interplay... [view my complete system specs]

Larry Rubin

Senior Editor

The Pentagon Channel

www.pentagonchannel.mil

• Mon, Aug 17 2009 6:09 PM In reply to