Latest post Fri, Feb 5 2010 3:25 PM by Kenton.VanNatten. 22 replies.
Page 1 of 2 (23 items) 1 2 Next >
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Thu, Feb 4 2010 1:20 AM

• Dreamer D
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Tue, Sep 18 2007
    • NYC
    • Posts 145
    • Points 2,050

Frustrated with constant need to upgrade

Hi all.  Sorry, but I need to rant. 

Okay, so I'm a college student, and have Avid Xpress Pro on my PC.  I know I need to upgrade, but I am finding all these requirements just to make a decent short film extremely frustrating.  First of all, people now look down at you if you want to shoot on a good reliable SD mini-DV camera.  I am working on a project that I want to do outside of school (got a good script and want good talented people), and so I've been networking -- but everyone tells me that I have to shoot HD, and that a RED camera is the best option.  Well, mini-DV is what I learned on, and my school doesn't lend out HD cameras.  I'm not in a production class this semester so can't borrow one anyway.  I have worked on an HDV project at my former school's campus (I transferred from one that has better equipment than the one I'm in now).  But no one seems to think HDV is good enough.  Why does it have to be a RED?  I want it to look good, but I don't want to wind up with a hard drive that just sits there because I can't do anything with the files.  Besides, no DP with a RED will work cheaply or for free. And I am not about to go out and buy a new camera, because the technology's constantly changing and even a $3000 camera, which is a big chunk of cash for me, is considered low-end.  I think, more than any other equipment, I would rather invest in my editing system.