Latest post Tue, Mar 1 2011 2:33 PM by Anders Ward. 4 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (5 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Mar 1 2011 4:01 AM

how to link your locators when logging to Aux TC

hey everyone,

first of all i'm pretty new to Avid so please forgive me for the simple question if it is simple. I learned on Final Cut, but have been assisting on a doc cut in Avid MC and so far I'm enjoying learning a new system. One thing that has come up is the ability to map my locators to AUX TC. let me explain. we have 7D footage with external audio that we are synching using the timecode slate and also plural eyes- though for the most part they are shooting the TC slate at the top of every shot. Sometimes we have two cameras shooting the same thing and both using the same audio so I was wondering to save time if it was possible to log one angle with locators, then simply copy and paste all of the locators with the corresponding timecode into the alternative angle based off the AUX TC from the sound files? I notice that they do copy and paste but it isn't doing me any good when the two cameras are generating different timecodes. thanks for your help.

• Tue, Mar 1 2011 6:42 AM In reply to

Re: how to link your locators when logging to Aux TC

Sounds like you want to sync one angle of 7D clips to your Aux audio using Plural Eyes, and sometimes another angle of 7D clips to the same Aux audio, again using Plural Eyes. If as you say the Aux audio clip is common to both sequences, you will be able to edit them together manually (best to duplicate/rename one of your imported Plural Eyes sequences first-- then add it to Composer monitor in preparation for more editing).

As a newcomer,  you many not realize that any sequence (like your 2nd Plural Eyes imported sequence) can be loaded into the Source monitor,