Latest post Fri, Jul 15 2011 7:38 PM by Job ter Burg. 13 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (14 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Fri, Jul 15 2011 9:33 AM

problems importing FCP edit in Avid

I am a very inexperienced editor just starting out on Avid

I've been handed a project at work where i will finish a 1,5 hour rough cut made on FCP on a Avid.

Depending on the set i get to work on its MC4.0 or 5.03

The usual editors working on these sets only work with their own material shot on XDcam, so they have no experience importing other EDL's and hardly any experience importing other source material.

I won't start editing this project until end of august, but we started to conduct some test because we anticipate problems..

I've run into two issues:

1)Source material is only available in .mov flies as imported by FCP not in the format originally shot by the camera

They filmed on HQ 1280x 720 50 p

Source material only plays sound and a white screen when imported into Avid. Is this a codec problem?

I've heard it may be fixed by linking the clips with AMA in version 5. Will give this a try monday when the 5.03 set is available.

2) I have trouble importing the edit from FCP. 

The previous editor has made a small EDL to test with , but can only do this by switching the project to a DV project. In the original project in FCP it is only possible to export the edit als an .xml file.  Is it possible to import the edit from an  XML file  in Avid? 

If trying to import the EDL I also run into problems

a) while importing the edl with EDL manager the offline media is shown in the timeline with weird numers. I suspect this is avid's quirk of showing tape names in stead of clipnames.  Is there any way to fix this?

b) I get an exeption stating "sequence or one of its source elements is too long to play"

c) how can i relink media if Avid won't play the mov files properly? Will reencoding the files screw up the ability to relink to the edit?