Latest post Sun, Jun 1 2014 1:25 AM by Jayson. 8 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (9 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Wed, Apr 25 2012 6:28 PM

• Kevin Thompson
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Fri, Jun 11 2010
    • Perth, Australia
    • Posts 13
    • Points 175

Black Magic Design Cinema Camera RAW

I have zero experience with RAW workflow.

I have preordered the Black Magic Design Cinema Camera. I hope to enjoy the dynamic range in music video production.

BMD and AVID seem to be working well together over the last year, so I am confident that MC will support the RAW files from the new RAW camera.

BMD currently specify the format as 'RAW 2.5K CinemaDNG'. The camera is due in July and as yet no sample files from the camera are available.

Do those experienced with RAW workflows, feel that Metafuze would currently handle the BMG camera's files?

Media Composer 6.01 | Dual Xeons @ 2.25 | Quadro 600 | 12G Ram [view my complete system specs]
  • Wed, Apr 25 2012 10:20 PM In reply to

• DylanReeve
    • Top 50 Contributor
    • Joined on Thu, Oct 13 2005
    • Auckland, New Zealand
    • Posts 1,677
    • Points 20,435
    • Moderator: MCA Mac
      Moderator: MCA PC

Re: Black Magic Design Cinema Camera RAW

CinemaDNG is more of a theoretical format than a real one at the moment. It's existed as a specification for sometime (it's an extension of Adobe's DNG image format) but it's very hard to find example of it 'in the wild'.

At this stage I'm not aware of any workflow for CinemaDNG. It is presumably supported in Adobe's applications, and possibly other grading tools like Resolve, but I don't think it will work in MetaFuze at this stage, nor in Media Composer. I say 'presumably' and 'think' because I've not been able to get hold of CinemaDNG footage.