Latest post Tue, Dec 4 2018 10:41 PM by BDavis24. 9 replies.
Page 1 of 1 (10 items)
Sort Posts: Previous Next
  • Tue, Apr 24 2018 4:24 PM

• JesusPM
    • Not Ranked
    • Joined on Mon, Dec 4 2017
    • Posts 13
    • Points 165

BWF Metadata Missing - ProTools Conform Issues

Hello,

I'm a film assistant editor and I just finished turning over a feature film to our sound department, but unfortunately they can't relink all the audio on their end (only some clips). I sent them both AAFs and EDLs for each reel but none of these method work.

Our production crew used 2 different audio recorders: a Zaxcom and a Zoom F8. We've learnt that the Broadcast Wave Audio files generated by the Zoom F8 are be the ones that can't be relinked in ProTools (the BWF from the Zaxcom relink just fine).

All the media was imported into Media Composer the same way (using legacy Import), but depending on the reocrder, the files came into MC with different information:

BWF from the Zaxcom shows TapeScene and Take information (although no Source File data):

Zaxcom Audio Metadata in Avid MC 8.4

BWF from the Zoom F8 come in without TapeScene and Take information (but with Source File metadata):

Zoom F8 Audio Metadata in Avid

It's important to nocite that if I open the original audio files (from either the Zaxcom or Zoom) in Wave Agent, the app shows me the propper metadata in either case.

Also, importing the orginal audio files from both recorders straight into ProTools works well: the metadata from both the Zaxcom and Zoom is displayed in the same columns: SoundrollScene and Take.

Audio Metadata in Pro Tools